Georgia Perimeter College Regulations
Vehicles, Licenses and Parking Permits
Article 1-Statement of Policy
- Authority & Jurisdiction – The Georgia Perimeter College Department of Public Safety has the responsibility and authority to administer the traffic policy for the institution and to control traffic and parking accordingly. The Georgia Motor Vehicle and Traffic Code (Title 40) confers the right to Georgia Perimeter College to control traffic and parking on its properties. All individuals who register a vehicle with Public Safety or operate a vehicle on Georgia Perimeter College property shall abide by the regulations set down by this vehicle code.
- Enforcement – Georgia Perimeter College Public Safety enforces Georgia State law and vehicle codes and the rules and regulations of the College. Statutes are enforced 24 hours a day, 365 days a year except as otherwise indicated within this code. Violators are subject to having their vehicle immobilized (booted) and/or towed for serious violations or after a fourth and subsequent unpaid fine.
- Vehicle Insurance – Georgia law requires that every owner and driver of a motor vehicle in this state maintain financial responsibility through liability insurance coverage. Any other means of financial responsibility must be approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Anyone who registers a vehicle or drives on Georgia Perimeter College property must meet this requirement.
- Driver’s Licenses – The State of Georgia requires that any non-resident student over the age of 18 must obtain a Georgia drivers license and vehicle registration.
- Liability – Georgia Perimeter College does not assume responsibility for any damage to a vehicle due to theft, vandalism, flood, fire, or accident.
- Permission to Park and Operate a Vehicle on Campus – A PARKING PERMIT DOES NOT GUARANTEE OR RESERVE A PLACE TO PARK. It does give license to drive and park on Georgia Perimeter College property in the manner prescribed by this vehicle code. PARKING PERMITS ARE REQUIRED AT ALL TIMES FOR VEHICLES PARKED ON GEORGIA PERIMETER COLLEGE PROPERTY. These privileges may be revoked at any time at the discretion of the College.
- Control of College Roads and Parking Lots – The College reserves the right to close any campus parking area when it is necessary for maintenance, safety or to meet special needs. When possible, notices will be posted indicating the closure.
- Fines – Fines shall be levied according to the schedule indicated in Article III & IV. Fines must be paid upon receipt of a violation. Fourth and subsequent unpaid fines may result in a vehicle being booted and/or towed. Student grades, subsequent registration and diplomas shall be withheld until all fines are paid. Violations may be appealed as indicated in Article V.
- Suspension of Privileges – The privilege to operate or park a vehicle on campus may be suspended to preserve the safety of the campus. Vehicle operators accruing 7 or more citations (parking or moving) in an academic year may be subjected to this suspension at the discretion of Public Safety.
Article II-Vehicle Registration and Responsibility
- Vehicle Registration – Parking permits are free. All vehicles operated on campus by students or employees MUST be registered with the Public Safety Department. Vehicles that are unregistered or do not display a valid College permit are not permitted to park on campus. Visitors may obtain a permit free of charge from the Public Safety office during business hours. It is unlawful to forge, fabricate or alter a parking permit.
i) Registration – Vehicles must be registered with Public Safety within 5 business days from the first time a vehicle is on college property.
ii) Student Permits – permit must be affixed to the exterior lower driver side of the rear windshield or driver side of the rear bumper.
iii) Visitor/Temporary Permits – permits are to be placed on the driver side dashboard.
iv) Handicap Parking Permits – Public Safety is not authorized to issue temporary or permanent handicap parking permits. The vehicle owner can go to the nearest DMVS office in the county in which they reside to obtain a Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit (MV-9D) or they can complete the form on line at http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/forms/pdf/motor/mv-9d.pdf.
v) Unregistered Vehicles – An unregistered vehicle may be subject to a check with the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles or other agency, an immobilization boot or towing if it is found to be in violation of any of these regulations. If a College student or employee has an unregistered vehicle on campus, he/she will be responsible for all costs involved in the removal of an immobilization boot, towing charges and the cost of verification of ownership through the appropriate agency. Any previously unbilled citations will be billed to the student’s account.
vi) Selling or transfer of a Registered Vehicle – When selling a vehicle, the original owner must remove any Georgia Perimeter College parking permits on the vehicle and notify Public Safety within 5 business days, if not, any citations received are the responsibility of the owner. Failure to do so may result in any citations received being the responsibility of the owner of record.
- Curb Designations – All curbs adjacent to campus buildings are considered Fire Lanes unless there are parking spaces designated by parking bumpers and/or white lines painted on the pavement. Parking on a yellow curb is prohibited.
- Lot Restrictions - Reserved parking for Staff and Faculty is indicated by signage and is enforced Monday-Friday, 7a-7p. Students may park in any lot NOT designated as Staff/Faculty parking when displaying a valid parking permit.
** Any Georgia Perimeter College permit is valid for ANY LOT on weekends and holidays.
- Visitor Permits – Visitors, vendors and other special groups may be issued a Temporary Permit at no charge. Permits may be obtained from the Public Safety Office during normal business hours. Visitor Permits for large groups must be ordered seven (7) business days in advance by the department requesting permits.
- Temporary Permits – Students who have not obtained a student ID can obtain a Temporary Permit from the Public Safety office.
- Lost Parking Permits – If a parking permit is lost it must be reported immediately to the Public Safety office before a new permit will be issued. A replacement fee of $5.00 will be assessed for lost permits. Recovered permits must be returned to the Public Safety Administrative office.
- Inoperable Vehicles – Vehicles that are inoperable and or are not properly registered with DMV will be considered abandoned after a period of 10 business days from their date of discovery. These vehicles may be fined and/or towed at the owner’s expense. Inoperable vehicles may not be stored on campus.
- Auto Work – Auto work of any kind is not permitted on campus.
- Motorcycles – Motorcycles and motorized bicycles (mopeds, motor scooters, etc.) are subject to all regulations in this code.
i) Motorcycles must park in normal vehicle parking spaces or designated motorcycle areas.
ii) Mopeds that have an engine size of 100cc or less may park in the bicycle racks.
- Bicycles – Bicycles are not required to be registered with Public Safety.
i) Bicycles may not be ridden on pedestrian sidewalks. Bicycles must use roads open to automobile traffic only. Roads closed to automobiles are for pedestrians only.
ii) Bicycles are to be chained to bicycle racks only. Bicycles chained to building handrails, etc. are subject to fines and impoundment by Public Safety.
iii) Public Safety reserves the rights to sell abandoned bicycles or give them to charity after a 90 day hold from the date of impound.
Article III - Violations and Fines
All warnings and violations are documented in a Driver History. Repeat violators are subject to a Repeat Violator fine schedule (see Article IV). Fourth and subsequent unpaid tickets may result in your car being booted and/or towed. Student grades, subsequent registration, transcripts and diplomas may be held until all fines are paid.
10.0 Permit Not Displayed/Not Registered – $30.00 Fine: All vehicles parked on Georgia Perimeter College property must be registered with Public Safety. Students, staff and faculty must register for a parking permit. Visitors and guests must display a temporary parking permit.
10.1 Expired Permit – $30.00 Fine: Student permits are valid for one year and must be renewed prior to expiration.
10.2 Expired Temporary Permit – $30.00 Fine: Temporary permits are valid only for a limited period of time as indicated on the permit.
10.3 Improper Display – $30.00 Fine: All parking permits must be displayed on the exterior rear window in the lower driver side corner OR on the rear driver side bumper. Temporary permits must be displayed on the front dash board.
11.0 Posted Reserved Space – $35.00 Fine: Reserved parking by special permit or permission from Public Safety only.
11.1 Posted No Parking – $35.00 Fine: No parking or standing.
11.2 Posted 15 Minute Zone – $35.00 Fine: 15 minutes is the maximum time permitted in temporary loading/unloading zones unless otherwise specified by posting.
11.3 Posted Faculty/Staff Parking – $35.00 Fine: Faculty staff parking only from 7a-7p Monday-Friday.
12.0 Parking on a Curb – $40.00 Fine: Parking on a curb lacking pavement markings to indicate a designated parking spaces is prohibited.
12.1 Parking on Lawn or Walkway – $40.00 Fine: Parking on sidewalks or lawns is prohibited.
12.2 Blocking a Driveway or Wheelchair Ramp– $40.00 Fine: Vehicles shall not block driveways or handicap access ramps.
12.3 Occupying More Than One Space – $40.00 Fine: Vehicles shall not occupy more than one designated parking space.
12.4 Red Zones/Fire Lanes/Fire Hydrants–$100.00 Fine: A vehicle may not stop or park in a red zone or fire lane, whether the vehicle is attended or not.
12.5 Handicapped Parking –$200.00 Fine: Blue handicapped spaces with a sign posted are for handicapped parking only, including nights, weekends and holidays. The only vehicles allowed to park in handicapped spaces are those displaying a special handicap license plate or placard issued by the DMV. PERMITS ARE VALID FOR THE PERSON NAMED ON THE PERMIT ONLY. College employees may not park in handicapped zones without proper DMV issued permits. Vehicles displaying BOTH a valid handicap permit and a valid GPC permit may park in staff or student parking if handicap parking is unavailable.
Traffic Control Devices:
13.0 Entering the Wrong Way – $50.00 Fine: Vehicles shall at all times travel in the proper direction by lane assignment and shall not enter into areas posted Wrong Way.
13.1 Failure to Stop – $50.00 Fine: Vehicles must come to a complete stop at all posted Stop signs.
13.2 Failure to Yield – $50.00 Fine: All vehicles must yield the right-of-way to vehicles and pedestrians where posted. All vehicles must yield to Public Safety vehicle lights/siren when necessary.
13.3 Unsafe Vehicle Operation – $50.00 Fine: The operation of a vehicle in a manner deemed hazardous or unsafe is prohibited. All vehicle operations are limited to public roadways unless prior permission is obtained from Public Safety.
13.4 Tampering With Vehicle Gates, Barricades/Cones – $75.00 Fine: Attempting to open, raise or alter static or motorized vehicle gates is prohibited. The altering a traffic cones or barricades is prohibited.
13.5 Tampering with Immobilization Device –$100.00 Fine: The College reserves the right to impound any vehicle that violates parking regulations by using an immobilization boot. Tampering with or attempting to remove an immobilization device is prohibited.
Exceeding the Posted Speed Limit:
14.0 5-14mph Over Posted Limit – $50.00 Fine
14.1 15-19mph or More Over Posted Limit – $75.00 Fine
Misuse of Vehicle:
15.0 Reckless Driving – $75.00 Fine: Vehicles driven in an abusive manner, with wanton disregard for the safety of others are considered reckless. This includes, but is not limited to “laying drags” and display of speed.
15.1 Obstructing Traffic – $50.00 Fine: There is no stopping, standing or parking in a way that prevents another vehicle from moving or hinders the normal flow of traffic.
15.2 Passing a Moving Vehicle – $50.00 Fine: Passing a moving vehicle on campus roads is prohibited.
15.3 Aggressive Driving – $75.00 Fine: A person commits the offense of aggressive driving when he or she operates any motor vehicle with the intent to annoy, harass, molest, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another person or motor vehicle.
15.4 Limits on sound volume produced by radio, tape player, or other mechanical sound-making device from within the motor vehicle - $50.00 Fine: It is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on any campus property to operate or amplify the sound produced by a radio, tape player, or other mechanical sound-making device or instrument from within the motor vehicle so that the sound is plainly audible at a distance of 100 feet or more from the motor vehicle.
Article IV – Repeat Offenses
Repeat Violator: Repeat violators will be assessed an additional fine for any warning or violation in excess of the proscribed number.
RV.1 3rd violation, base fine plus $15
RV.2 4th violation, base fine plus $25
RV.3 5th violation, base fine plus $40
RV.4 6th violation, base fine plus $50
RV.5 7th violation, possible revocation of vehicle privileges on GPC property
(Repeat violations accrued by semester)
Article V – Appeals
A. On the back of the citation form there is space to write an appeal. All information must be filled out completely and returned in person or by mail (post dated) within seven (7) business days of issuance. Results of your appeal will be emailed and/or mailed to your GPC email and/or home address. Appeals made after seven (7) days may be grounds for denial.
B. Failure to complete all information on back of the form may be grounds for denial.
C. Causes due but not limited to tardiness, weather conditions, or a lack of parking do not constitute a valid appeal.
D. Student appeals are adjudicated by a student led judiciary board.