The Division of English


Creative License
A Publication of Georgia Perimeter College

Selection Process | 2013 Editors | 2013 Faculty Advisors

Creative License is an award winning literary and arts magazine published annually by and for the students of Georgia Perimeter College. Its mission is to provide an outlet for students' creative expression and to serve as a classroom teaching tool to promote learning and unity among GPC campus communities. The goal of the literary journal is to expose the unique perspectives of Georgia Perimeter College students. The magazine is solely compiled of student work which reflects the college's unique and diverse population.

Creative License was first published in Spring 1993 by a small group of visionaries led by Dr. Rosemary Cox, the faculty editor of the premier edition of the publication. In honor of the vision, service, and inspiration provided by Dr. Cox, the annual student awards given in the categories of Art, Photography, Poetry, and Short Fiction are now known as The Rosemary Cox Prizes.

Selection Process

Students may submit up to four entries per each prize category: Poetry (which includes song lyrics), Short Fiction, Art, and Photography. Each entry will be considered for The Rosemary Cox Prize in that category. The magazine accepts only original work (work that has never been published before and is not currently under consideration for publication) that can appear in print: poetry, fiction, drama, art, photography, or musical scores.

Submission Form

Founding Editor - Rosemary Cox:

"I am particularly proud of student involvement in this publication. That was the reason we started it, and that is what it is all about. We want to continue the tradition of encouraging young writers to 'blossom' and to provide an opportunity for aspiring student editors to learn the trade."


2013 Student Editors:

 Khadijah Carter
Kim M. Harris
Chachee Valentine
Olivia Welch

2013 Faculty Editor - Deborah Byrd



Faculty Advisors:

Alpharetta Campus - Katherine Perry
Clarkston Campus - Shellie Welch & Amber Brooks
Decatur Campus - Tracienne Ravita & Phillip Mosier
Dunwoody Campus - Lynn McGill
Newton Campus - Deborah Byrd

Online Campus - Lauri Goodling

*Click on the names above to email your campus faculty advisor for more details.