"There are so many ways to be judged, and to be chosen
        by people who really care about the craft, that's so flattering."

                Thomas Mullen, 2012 Townsend Prize Winner



            APRIL 17- NEW DEADLINE

            REGISTER NOW AT: http://giving.gpc.edu/townsend

Only two weeks remain till the winner of the 2014 Townsend Prize for Fiction is announced on April 24, 2014. For the second biennium running, the event will take place at the Atlanta Botanical Garden's Day Hall from 5 to 9 p.m.

Recognized as the premier event at which the state's literati gather to honor the best in their class, the awarding of the Townsend Prize was created in memory of Jim Townsend, founding editor of Atlanta magazine and mentor to some of the state of Georgia's most distinguished authors. Hosted by The Chattahoochee Review and Georgia Perimeter College, the Townsend is presented biennially to a Georgia writer who is judged to have published an outstanding work of fiction during the preceding two years of the prize's awarding.

The finalists for the 2014 award include an eclectic mix of Georgia writers reflecting the prize's celebration of the Southern voice in all its intricacies and incarnations. The list of finalists for the 2014 prize is as follows:

●    Stacia Brown for Accidents of Providence (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
●    Amber Dermont for The Starboard Sea (St. Martin's Griffin)
●    Joshilyn Jackson for Someone Else's Love Story (William Morrow)
●    Sheri Joseph for Where You Can Find Me (Thomas Dunne Books)
●    Charles McNair for Pickett's Charge (Livingston Press)
●    Jamie Quatro for I Want to Show You More: Stories (Grove Press)
●    Josh Russell for A True History of the Captivation, Transport to Strange Lands, and Deliverance of Hannah Guttentag
      (Dzanc Books)
●    Susan Rebecca White for A Place at the Table (Touchstone)
●    Philip Lee Williams for Emerson's Brother (Mercer University Press)
●    Anthony Winkler for God Carlos (Akashic Books)

More information about the ten finalists and their books can be found on the 2014 Prize Finalists page.



Admission to the 2014 Townsend Prize for Fiction award ceremony costs $25, which includes:

●    self-guided tours of the Atlanta Botanical Garden beginning at 5 p.m.

●    an informal meet-and-greet and book signing with the prize's finalists, accompanied by an hors d'oeuvres reception,
      cash bar, and jazz band performances beginning at 6:30 p.m., followed by

●    the award ceremony at 7 p.m., during which 2011 National Book Award winner, Jesmyn Ward, will
      present the keynote address. Former editor-in-chief of Atlanta magazine and award-winning journalist,
      Lee Walburn, will also speak about Jim Townsend and what it was like to work with him.

Seating at the event is open, except for at those seats indicated as reserved.


Registration and payment for admission to the award ceremony has been extended through April 17 via the following link: http://giving.gpc.edu/townsend. or by clicking on the 2014 Award Registration link at the top left of this page. Registration and payment is only available online. Admission to this year's event will not be allowed at the door, so be sure to register and pay before the April 17 deadline.

Book clubs and other groups interested in registering and paying for their own table (10 seats) at the ceremony may now do so at the cost of $280. Due to limited registration capacity and exclusivity, only 8 tables of this kind are available for purchase. Information about table registration can also be found at http://giving.gpc.edu/townsend. Click on the "Instructions for Registering a Table" link at the top of the registration page.


The Atlanta Botanical Garden is located adjacent to Piedmont Park at 1345 Piedmont Avenue, Atlanta, Georgia 30309. Guests of the 2014 Townsend Prize for Fiction can park at the garden's onsite SAGE Parking Facility. Directions to the garden and rates for parking at the onsite facility can be found at the following site: http://www.atlantabotanicalgarden.org/plan-your-visit/visitor-info.


With a legacy of more than a quarter century, The Townsend Prize is Georgia's oldest and most prestigious literary award. Georgia Perimeter College has been the custodian and principle sponsor of the award ceremony since 1997, and along with the prize's administratorsThe Chattahoochee Review and the Georgia Center for the Bookis the host of the event.

The co-sponsors and partners of the 2014 event include: the 22nd Annual MJCCA Book Festival, Atlanta magazine, the Atlanta Writers Club, the GPC Foundation, and Ivy Hall at SCAD.