Governance Section : Prior Learning Assessment Task Force

Presidential Task Force: Prior Learning Assessment

Committee Charge: The Prior Learning Task Force will develop recommendations to address the following topics as identified by the Prior Learning Assessment Think Tank:

  • Determine the process for assessing prior learning;
  • Determine supervisory responsibility for prior learning and organizational structure;
  • Determine standards for assessing military training;
  • Determine standards for assessing military instruction;
  • Determine standards for assessing experiential learning;
  • Determine standards for establishing individual course equivalencies;
  • Determine basic design and format for prior learning assessment courses.

Final Report

Meeting Dates: 12/2/11, 1/31/12, and 2/13/12.

Committee Membership:

Name Title Campus
Alan Jackson Vice President for Academic Affairs Decatur
Lisa Fowler Assistant Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Success Clarkston
Tamra Ortgies-Young Interim Director of Adult Learning Initiatives Newton
Patti Gregg Director of Institutional Research and Planning Lakeside
Evonne Jones Coordinator of Student Services — Online Clarkston
Robert Knowles Coordinator of Military Outreach Services Clarkston
Nancy Gup Assistant Professor of Psychology Dunwoody
Christopher Rednour Director of Learning Support and Testing Services Decatur
Douglas Ruch Director of Records/Campus Registrar Clarkston
Mary Hickman-Brown Dean of Students, Decatur Decatur
Alice Pierce Department Chair and Associate Professor of Mathematics Clarkston
John Siler Director of Government Relations Decatur
Ingrid Thompson-Sellers Academic Division Dean — Business/P.E./SLIP Clarkston
Richard Beaubien Director of Recruitment and Admissions Lakeside
Thomas Graham Associate Professor of Social Science Dunwoody
Colleen Ijuin Department Chair, Humanities/ESL-FL Clarkston