Alumni Association

Outstanding Alumnus Awards

Each year the Alumni Association proudly recognizes an alumni who have demonstrated one or more of the following characteristics:

• Outstanding leadership or service within the community
• Leadership in his/her chosen profession
• Contribution to the welfare of Georgia Perimeter College
• Leadership in making a positive difference in the lives of others.

In 2012, the Outstanding Alumnus Award will be awarded in three categories:

• Emerging Leader--awarded to a current student
• Recent Alum--awarded to a former student within 15 years of his or her departure from the college
• Distinguished Alum--awarded to a former student who departed the college more than 15 years ago

The award is the highest honor bestowed on a DeKalb College/GPC graduate and is presented each year during Commencement.

Nominations for 2016 awards are open through March 18. Nominations should include a letter of recommendation outlining substantive reasons the nominee deserves the award. Self-nominations must include a recommendation from someone else. Please submit to:

Collins Foster
3251 Panthersville Rd.
Decatur, GA 30034

2014 Outstanding Alumni
Ann Marie Hormeku, Emerging Leader
Antonio Molina, Recent Alum

Read the full article on all our 2014 award winners here

Former Outstanding Alumni
Kavya Manyapu (Recent Alumni) 2013
Juan Rodriguez (Emerging Leader) 2013
Meredith Hoffman (Emerging Leader) 2013
Karla Moody (Distinguished Alumni) 2013
Brian Lovell- 2012
Walter Crawford (Emerging Leader) 2011
Joshilyn Jackson (Distinguished Alum) 2011
James Williamson 2010

Marc Fitten 2009
Lori Gene 2008
Mary Ann Traina 2007
Jessica Woghiren 2006
Dr. Garry McGiboney 2006
Melinda Mock 2006
Sue Smith 2005
Sixing (Stella) Xu 2004
Dr. William Lowe 2003
Tony McIntyre 2002
James A. Dodds 2001
John M. Lawler 2000
Sheldon Fleming 1999
Terrence M. Roasario 1998
Charles Cicero Bruce 1997
Dan McBride 1996
Clark Ashton Farmer 1995
Jan Koehn-Selman 1994
Mary Pat Haffey 1993
Stefanie D. Palma 1992
Fred C. Turner 1991
Gail Winfrey Winston 1990
Lynne B. Byrd 1990
Verlene P. Cobb 1989
Robbie Hambrick 1988
Bruce Fitzgerald 1987
Sally Street Cabey 1987
Thomas E. Brown, Jr. 1986
Glen Eden 1985
Mike Whitehead 1984
Whitfield Smith 1984
Mildred Skinner 1984
Ford Lallerstedt 1984
Allan A. Kirwan 1984
Maureen Dinges 1984
Nan Marie Deegan 1984
John Crist 1984